Coffee Space


Listen:

Fitness Plan

Preview Image

Preview Image

It has now been a month since I officially ended my keto diet, after being on it for more than a year! It's time for an update!

Short Debrief: Keto successfully took me from somewhere between 180-190kg down to 110-120kg, representing between 60-80kg in total loss in just over a year. Whilst I would consider it successful, it was an awful process to maintain. My goal was to get down to 90kg before Christmas, but in the end I was just maintaining my weight, as keto had become too difficult to maintain.

Current situation: I have now been off of keto for a month, and whilst I introduced carbohydrates back mostly, I refused to add refined sugar back into my diet. I will discuss this shortly, but I am currently sitting at about 120kg, despite my lightest being 110kg. This is part of the expected result of retaining water weight and the re-introduction of carbohydrates.

January

January I have spent in a "relaxed" mode, where I have been trying to introduce the right foods, without worrying about calories or portion sizes. This has meant the exclusion of refined sugars and an attempt to choose low-carb foods where possible.

Unfortunately this is where the good news ends. My current portion sizes are quite large, and I have ordered take-out a few too many times in this month. To make matters worse, I have also failed to start exercising regularly again. I did attempt a run, but I appear to have lost some cardio capability, despite my knee now being mostly recovered. As a result, I have put on some weight over this period.

Obviously, seeing this bad pattern, I should address it early! (Fuck doing all of this all over again.)

Goal

Firstly, I will set a goal:

By the 1st of July, 2022, I want to weigh 80kg and be able to do a half-marathon.

For me this time is important - I will likely be leaving New Zealand at this time, be seeing my family for the first time in two years and meeting with RoboCup friends hopefully in Thailand. I want to present the best version of myself to the people I care about.

February

In the next month I should try to stick to a much better regime.

Food

With regards to foods, I have the rough goals in mind:

  • Reduced carbohydrates
  • Under 1000 kcal
  • No refined sugar
  • No vegetable limit (for low-carb vegetables)

As a basic meal plan, I intend to create the following:

Meal Time Planned Meal
Breakfast Oats + peanuts + coca powder
Dinner 1 Rice + tuna + vegetables
Dinner 2 Rice + soup + vegetables
Snack 1 Soup + bread
Snack 2 Keto protein bar
Snack 3 Keto noodles

The reason for using oats and rice is that they are super cheap and I need to save money for this final leg of the PhD. I will use these as the carbohydrate base as sparingly as possible.

Exercise

I think for me, it makes sense to restart from the ground up. I believe my initial mistake was pushing too hard, too quickly.

It is currently very hot during the day, NZ has some awfully strong UV, so I will do exercise after midnight when it is coolest.

The plan looks as follows (for the next month):

Note: 2 miles can take 45 minutes to walk.

Date Day Exercise
2022-02-01 Tue Walk 4 miles
2022-02-02 Wed Walk 4 miles
2022-02-03 Thu Walk 4 miles
2022-02-04 Fri Walk 4 miles
2022-02-05 Sat Walk 4 miles
2022-02-06 Sun Walk 4 miles
2022-02-07 Tue Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-08 Tue Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-09 Wed Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-10 Thu Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-11 Fri Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-12 Sat Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-13 Sun Walk 4 miles + weighted bag
2022-02-14 Tue Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-15 Tue Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-16 Wed Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-17 Thu Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-18 Fri Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-19 Sat Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-20 Sun Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x2
2022-02-21 Tue Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-22 Tue Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-23 Wed Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-24 Thu Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-25 Fri Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-26 Sat Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-27 Sun Walk 4 miles + weighted bag x3
2022-02-28 Tue Run 2 miles

I will look to add some 10kg each time to the bag itself in order to make the walk harder. Doing this consistently each day should raise VO2 max in preparation for the last day of the month, where I will trial again another 2 mile run.

Future

Depending on the success of this, I will then re-evaluate and re-plan accordingly. All going well there should be a part 2 to this!